Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Books From The Contemporary Genre That I’ve Recently Added To My TBR List

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

For a long time, I didn’t think I could like contemporary. I thought it was stupid and childish. I would like to go back in time and hit past Bailey to knock some sense into her.

Once and for All by Sarah Dessen

32078787
She’s literally the queen of contemporary, maybe YA in general. I’m a sucker for pretty covers and this one sounds right up my alley. I’m also *not* planning to sneak into one of my friends houses to steal  borrow one of my friends ARCs.

I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo 

31145133.jpg

K Dramas as inspiration? A determined girl using a formulaic approach to first love? This sounds right up my alley and I can’t wait to get my hands on this one. Also, as always, THAT COVER.

Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia 

31931941.jpg

I absolutely loved her debut, Made You Up, and she’s a local author. I had the privilege to go to her launch party and I can tell you it was a blast. Internet famous, anonymous comic write meets her favorite fanfiction writer? Say no more.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon 

28458598.jpg

Positive portrayal of arranged marriage? A look into the pros and cons of the tradition? A headstrong girl with everything figured out? The synopsis sold me to begin with but then when all the praise from close friends poured in, I knew I needed this one.

Geekerella by Ashley Poston 

30724132.jpg

A geeky retelling of Cinderella with a fandom everyone wishes exists? Geekerella seems like everything I want and more. I’m all for modern fairy tale retellings and this sounds like a dream come true.

Alex, Approximately by Jean Bennett 

30312700.jpg

I can not even sing the praises loudly enough for Jenn’s YA debut, The Anatomical Shape of A Heart. It was one of the first ARCs I ever had the privilege of reviewing and I fell hard for that one, from the charming characters to Jenn’s style of writing. Also the main characters name is also mine, so this book crosses off a few things from my book bucket list. This book also seems to have hate to love, so sign me up. I love the cover and everything in the synopsis.

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

30038906.jpg

I’ve heard the many praises of Emery Lord and really enjoyed the one book I’ve read of hers. I’m also interested in a book about faith, as I’m not really that religious myself anymore. My brother died of cancer late last year, so I feel like I’ll really connect with Lucy.

Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman

29640839.jpg

It’s summer so what’s better than a book about an unexpected summer? I love books about complicated families because spoiler alert, no family is perfect. Finding yourself is a difficult thing to do, and sometimes it takes a few times to get it right. I can’t wait to see what Anise finds out, about love, family, and herself.

Internet Famous by Danika Stone

31145123

I was fortunate enough to be on the Summer Street Team tour for this book and I am beyond excited to finish this one. I love a story about a seemingly perfect person whose world gets shaken up, or turned all the way upside down. The exciting and terrifying, part of life is that anything can happen. This also touches on a new, yet very real threat, losing your anonymity online.

She, Myself, and I by Emma Young

34227690.jpg

This one has me utterly and completely intrigued. A brain transplant? Is that medically possible? Would you even be yourself anymore? Where would your memories and personality go? This is a very interesting take on finding yourself, especially in the body of someone else.

Are any of these on your TBR? What’s your favorite genre?

Leave a Reply

