Arc Review – Little Monsters

I was so happy to be apart of the Street Team for this book and the book itself didn’t disappoint

32320750.jpgFor fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller, from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation amongst teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.

4 Stars

Wow was this a mind trip. Talk about never trusting anyone else again. I was a little wary at the start of this book, not sure where it was going but man was I hooked after Bailey’s disappearance.

Kacey was a really fleshed out character and I connected with her on so many levels. From her abusive home, to feeling alone. She really spoke to me.

Yet again, however, I don’t get the lying. I don’t care what would happen to me at home I’d rather tell the truth so the police don’t think I’m a suspect. Yet characters always lie and incriminate themselves even further.

The twist on this one was just flawless. I never ever saw it coming and I usually always see them coming. Thinking back now, there were plenty of small hints and clues thrown in. Like all good mysteries have.

The pace kept me on the edge of my seat and I suspected everyone. From Bailey killing herself to Kacey doing it herself.

From the creepy séance, to nasty rumors, this one definitely keeps your head in a spin. Pick this one up if you need a good thriller. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s